baby shower brunch

5 Aug

I received a request yesterday to post some pictures of a party I’ve hosted. I would have to say one of my very favorites was a baby shower I threw for my dear friend Katie. She was expecting her sweet baby boy, Cash. The theme was a garden brunch and was held in August. If you’ve ever been to Paso Robles, you will know that August is typically very warm and by 10:00am it’s cooking. My original plans for the outdoor garden shower had to be moved inside. Here are some of the pictures from the party:

My first step was choosing the theme, a garden shower brunch. I then went with color choices of blue and browns to match Cash’s nursery. The linens, plates, silverware and glassware were rented from, Taylor Rentals. The thing I love about renting is that the cost is similar to purchasing the tacky plastic table cloths and paper plates. It makes the party feel more elegant and it’s a really easy clean up. You don’t need to wash the plates or linens. You return in the crates and your done.

The vases I made. I bought them at Michaels craft store and glued ribbon and attached a felt sticker on each side. My friend Shayna arranged the flowers and we sprinkled some blue crystal bling all over the tables & matching blue and brown M&M’s purchased at Michaels. The cards placed in the napkins were used for each guest to write a message to the mom to be or a little note to the baby. By the end of the shower Katie had a stack of wishes and advice on mothering.

I loved the idea of making a diaper cake and decided to create one for Katie’s shower. Sticking with the theme, I made mine a garden oasis. On top was a bird nesting on a single egg. The favors were potted plants with a simple ribbon tied around the pot.

The food was a brunch theme with quiche, potato scramble, salad, fruit, cheesecake, and a beautiful cake from Cassie’s Custom Cakes in Atascadero, CA. The beverages were mimosa’s, iced tea, coffee and tea.

While Katie was opening her gifts we had a clothes line pinned on the wall where we hung all the new baby clothes so everyone could see. It was a great picture to have for her album rather than an individual picture of her holding each item.

One of the guests brought her gifts wrapped in painted paper with the letters spelling the baby’s name. I just loved this idea and plan to use it in my future gift giving.

The decorations were simple. I put together tissue paper pom poms by Martha Stewart and hung them on the windows, balloon bouquets in blue and brown were set around the room, and the table decorations with crystals and flowers. The entry fountain was filled with little rubber duckies. The party was a success. Everyone had a great time including the mom to be. I can’t wait to help her throw Cash’s 1st Birthday in October. 🙂

Cheers!

~Steph~

One Response to “baby shower brunch”

  1. Arm Candy Confessions August 5, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    SO great! I have a baby shower I am throwing for a very good friend coming up and I love the ideas. She is having twin girls!!

Leave a Reply

