Piece of Cake

17 Aug

If you think about it, the Cake makes the party. No other food gets quite the attention like the cake does. It’s often the desert of choice for Birthday’s, Anniversary’s, and Weddings. Photographs are taken of the cake alone, guests crowd around with the oo’s and ah’s, newly wedded couples cut the cake together as one, we even make a wish to the cake. Talk about pressure! The Cake has the most important job of the party. So with this in mind, I thought it’s about time I step it up a notch. I’ve had my eye on the Cricut Cake machine for the past few months now and yesterday I decided to buy it. The machine has some mixed reviews online so I’m anxious to give it a spin to see what I think. As I wait patiently beside my front door for my new “baby” to arrive, I’ve been checking out some inspirational cake designs. Here are just a few of the fabulous cake designs I’ve been dreaming about……

Stay posted as I explore the Cricut Cake machine myself. I promise to post pictures of my progress.

Cheers!

~Steph~

5 Responses to “Piece of Cake”

  1. Arm Candy Confessions August 17, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Gorgeous, gorgeous and gorgeous. I’m beyond impressed that you would even think of creating such a thing. Kudos mama…..

  2. clementine cupcake co. August 17, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    sorry but i think cakes are overrated! they may look beautiful but then you need someone to stand there and cut up a hundred pieces and then the guests have to sit at the table eating a hacked up piece of cake (not beautiful anymore). cupcakes are the way to go!! a cupcake is individually sized and decorated so that each person gets a perfect dessert plus they can walk around with a cupcake in one hand and a cocktail in the other. way more fun for parties! of course i admit i am a bit biased on the subject! 🙂

    • Modern Hostess August 17, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

      I’m not against the cupcake. I LOVE the cupcake concept and actually prefer to have both at a party. I just think there is something classic and beautiful about a cake. I know that my kids eyes light up when they see a big cake with their name and candles perched on top. Sadie, you know I LOVE your cupcakes they are the BEST! 😉

      • sadie (clementine's) August 18, 2010 at 12:21 am #

        i agree there is something classic about a cake and i am just jealous probably because i am so not artistic and would never be able to pull off decorating an actual cake. cupcakes are as far as my skill set goes!

  3. Jenn McDaniel August 17, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    What a great tool to have! Ever since the “Barbie doll” cake, I’ve been fascinated with innovative cake design. I support this fully . . . . . get on with your creative self! In the words of Marie Antoinette, “Let them eat cake.”

Leave a Reply

