Easy as Pie

20 Sep

I don’t know where the term “easy as pie” came from. Baking a pie from scratch is far from easy. My lovely husband brought home a large bag of apples from a co-worker’s apple tree last week. My family loves fruit, but I knew it would take us forever to get through this bag of apples. That’s when I decided it was time for me to bake a pie. The problem is…I’ve never baked a pie from scratch in my life! I was a little intimidated but decided to try something new. I searched online for a pie recipe and came up with this one from the website, Mom’s who Think.

Let me tell you…it is a process. I spent a good 40 minutes peeling and slicing these tiny apples. Finally I had 7 cups, just what I needed for my pie filling. Although, I still have another 14 cups of apples to go!

Once I rolled out my pie dough (which I made from scratch…I’m very proud of this achievement) and set it in the pie pan I was ready for my pie filling. Isn’t this pretty?

I almost forgot to take a picture when the pie came out of the oven. Here she is…my first apple pie, already sliced into (oops)! My kids and husband gave it the two thumbs up. Delish!

Mangia!

~Steph~

Apple Pie Recipe

Ingredients:

Pastry for 2 crusts (recipe below)
7 cups sliced, peeled baking apples (Granny Smith or Jonathan work best)
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
3/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoons ground nutmeg
2 Tablespoons butter
1 egg yolk
1 Tablespoon water

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, toss the sliced apples with lemon juice.

2. Combine sugars, flour, cinnamon and nutmeg; add to apples and toss well to coat.

3. Fill pastry lined 9 inch pie pan with apple mixture. Dot with butter.

4. Place second crust on top of pie filling, cut slits in top of crust to vent. Seal the edges of the crust with a fork or by hand.

5. In a small bowl, beat the egg yolk and water. Brush mixture over top crust.

6. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes.

7. Reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake 40-45 minutes more or until crust is golden and filling is bubbly.

Flaky Pastry Pie Crust Recipe

Makes two 9-inch pie crusts

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, chilled and diced
1/2 cup ice water
Directions:

1. Combine the flour and salt in a large bowl.

2. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

3. Stir in the ice water, a Tablespoon at a time, until the crust mixture forms a ball.

4. Wrap dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight.

5. Sprinkle flour onto rolling surface. Roll dough out, then divide in half. Roll each half to fit a 9-inch pie plate.

6. Place crust in pie plate, pressing evenly into the bottom and sides.

2 Responses to “Easy as Pie”

  1. Tess September 20, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    I just happened to make a pie yesterday as well. I think my apple peeler/corer/ slicer from Pampered Chef was a great investment. My 12 year old finds preparing the apples a snap! The only drawback is it results in thinner slices of apple. Your pie crust is beautiful! I made mine a bit more rustic-style by using one sheet of puff pastry (which I rolled out) and then folded up towards the middle. Not nearly as pleasing to the eye as your gorgeous pie, but no one seemed to mind once we covered each slice with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream! Can’t wait to see what you do with rest of those apples….

  2. Jenn McDaniel September 20, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    Yum! I’ve been wanting to bake a pie all week. Thanks for the inspiration:)

Leave a Reply

