Grilled Mahi Mahi Tacos

18 Oct

Taco’s are a main staple in my house, we typically have taco’s once or twice a week. The kids love them and they are a quick and easy meal. Tonight I made some delicious Mahi Mahi tacos and it literally took me less than 30 minutes to whip together.

First I marinated the Mahi Mahi in olive oil, fresh lime juice, cilantro (I went a little overboard, but we love cilantro), oregano, jalapeno, ground cumin, and chili powder. I let this marinate for 20 minutes while I prepped the rest of my ingredients.

Next, I chopped up some red and white cabbage along with more cilantro for the taco garnish. I also like to slice up some red onion but happened to be out. In my perfect dream world I would have made my own salsa too but tonight was all about being quick and I used what we had in the fridge. 

After the Mahi Mahi had been marinating for 20 minutes it was time to throw them on the grill/stove. I made sure the grill was set for Medium and let the fish cook for about 4 minutes on one side then flipped them over for another minute. I then easily shredded the Mahi Mahi for the tacos. I quickly warmed my tortillas on a iron skillet and began putting all the tacos together.

Voila! Healthy and fresh grilled Mahi Mahi tacos. I served them along with black beans.

Mangia!

~Steph~

 

Ingredients:

1 pound Mahi Mahi

1/4 cup olive oil

1 lime juiced

1 teaspoon each of chili powder, ground cumin, dried oregano

1/4 cup fresh cilantro

8 flour tortillas grilled to warm

Garnish: chopped cilantro, cabbage, salsa, crema or sour cream, lime, red onion and green onion.

3 Responses to “Grilled Mahi Mahi Tacos”

  1. Tess October 19, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    Steph, these look absolutely gorgeous! I’m going to make this week. I happened to find a package of ‘mahi mahi pieces’ in the freezer section of Trader Joe’s. I have used it once before, and it was pretty good quality. It was like $5 bucks a lb. Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Jenn McDaniel October 19, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    It’s 10 in the morning and I want a fish taco! Yum:) I’m going to make these pronto.

  3. Tamara Stavrianoudakis October 19, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    Love the idea, and the presentation! Awesome photos!

Leave a Reply

