Vegetarian Pad Thai

19 Oct

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been in a cooking mood lately. I figure it’s a great addition to Modern Hostess. I hope your not tired of my recipes and posts. I plan to keep them coming. 😉

My husband and I love Thai Food and decided to try making our own Pad Thai. I searched online earlier in the day and we decided on the Vegetarian Pad Thai from Epicurious. The recipe had great reviews and look simple enough.

First we soaked the thai noodles in warm water for 30 minutes while we prepped the rest of the ingredients.

Here is the recipe and ingredients we followed from Epicurious:

  • 12 ounces dried flat rice noodles (1/4 inch wide; sometimes called pad Thai or banh pho)
  • 3 tablespoons tamarind (from a pliable block)
  • 1 cup boiling-hot water
  • 1/2 cup light soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Sriracha (Southeast Asian chile sauce)
  • 1 bunch scallions
  • 4 large shallots
  • 1 (14- to 16-ounce) package firm tofu
  • 1 1/2 cups peanut or vegetable oil
  • 6 large eggs
  • 4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 2 cups bean sprouts (1/4 pound)
  • 1/2 cup roasted peanuts, coarsely chopped

Read More http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Vegetarian-Pad-Thai-240960#ixzz12rwxetUM

 

I totally need a Wok. We received one as a gift for our Wedding 8 years ago and I never used it so I gave it to a friend of mine, kinda regretting that decision. I was able to make this pan work but I’m officially in the market for a Wok now.

The final result. It took us close to an hour to put this together but I’m pretty sure the next time we tackle Pad Thai it will be much faster. The problem we ran into was trying to find Tamarind at our local grocery store. Next time I make this version of Pad Thai I will include Tamarind and Cilantro (which I ran out of when making my Mahi Mahi taco’s yesterday). I couldn’t tell the difference of not having the Tamarind in the Pad Thai but I definitely want to try it with next time. It was well worth all the work. So delish!!!!

Funny story. We sat down as a family to eat. I happened to sneak the first bite and realized that it’s pretty spicy which I LOVE. I glanced at my kids who are not such big fans of spicy food. Both their eyes lit up and frantically looked for their drink. It was  a comical moment that ended up with boys having PB&J. Tad and I enjoyed our dinner and the boys were content with classic PB&J. Happy belly’s all around. 🙂

Mangia!

~Steph~

Leave a Reply

