School Daze

10 Nov

photo by zinkwazi

I’m going back to finish what I started 12 years ago. Has it really been 12 years already?! I started college right out of High School and spent 2 years at the Junior College where I earned most of my credits to transfer to Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo. At the same time, I stumbled across a position at Chase Manhattan and began as a Receptionist and within a year I worked myself up the ladder making more money then I knew what to do with at the age of 19! I decided to put school on the back burner while I advanced in my career. It was a good decision at the time because I was clearly not focused enough to decide on a major. I was also distracted in love with my boyfriend who is now my husband. 😉

After spending nearly 8 years in the business, it literally began sucking the life out of me. I was missing my kids more than ever and needed to re-evaluate. I decided to quit working and stay home full-time with my kids. The best decision I ever made!

Now that my boys are in school and my baby is ready to visit a babysitter for a few hours a week, I’m ready to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. Yeah, at 29 I’m still trying to figure it out! Last night I sat in front of the College Counselor and he asked me what I would like to major in. Good question?! I want to do SO many things and have many interests (Modern Hostess). Maybe Interior Design? Perhaps Communications? Journalism? I STILL don’t know what I want to be. He pulled up my transcripts and I was surprised to see that I’m only one health class away from satisfying my requirements to transfer to Cal Poly. Wahoo! We set up a game plan and I’m going to first finish my transfer units, then work on obtaining my Associates in either Interior Design or Broadcast Communications. Then I will transfer to Cal Poly for my Bachelors in Communications & Journalism. By the time my daughter is ready for Kindergarten I will have graduated from Cal Poly and be ready to enter the workforce again, but this time doing something I love. Totally out of left field for me but I’m SO excited! I can’t wait to sit in a “quiet” classroom! All you Parent’s of small children can appreciate that.

Not sure why I’m posting this on my blog. I already told the whole story to my 8 month old who responded with “bababababa”. I think she understood.

I love my Modern Hostess blog. It’s a wonderful creative release for me. I’ve created a small business and have 2 weddings this summer I will be coordinating. Very excited about that! I will continue to focus on my blog while raising my 3 beautiful kids, being an AMAZING wife (right, Tad), going to school full-time, and running a household. I can and WILL do it! It’s Time!

Cheers!

~Steph~

I promise to have some Modern Hostess related postings later on today. xoxo

5 Responses to “School Daze”

  1. Chayna November 10, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    Congrats! The game plan is the hardest part. I have been working on my MBA for the past year and my one night a week of class keeps me intellectually stimulated and absolutely inspired. ( way more than if I HAD to take a class). Best wishes! You will do it all and do it all fabulously!! Xo o

  2. Christie November 10, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    Good for you Steph!! You can do it all!!

  3. Tess November 10, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Congratulations on your progress! It must’ve been such a great feeling to find out how close you were to transferring and to having your Associates. I actually work in the Journalism Department at Cal Poly, so let me know if you need anything. I know you will do great! BTW, I got my bachelor’s three years ago, at the age of 40. Best of Luck!

  4. Vanessa November 10, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Congratulations, Steph! Great decision and I’m very excited for you 🙂

  5. Jenn McDaniel November 10, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Awesome! I’m so excited for you. You CAN do it:)

Leave a Reply

