Real Parties ~ Fiesta

23 Feb

Woo-hoo! I am thrilled to be joining Modern Hostess.  I thought I’d start with sharing one of my recent parties.

My wonderful Grandma turned 90 and the family hosted a fiesta themed party for her.  It all started with this great inspiration post that Modern Hostess put together for me.  Here are details of how the day came together.

Invitation: This invitation was designed by my uncle and set the mood for the party.

Location: YMCA Community Center of Soledad.

Decoration: I was in charge of decorations and here is a look at what I came up with.

  • Table Overlays: I ordered 13 yards of this beautiful Alexander Henry (Talavera) fabric to make simple table overlays.  They added color and set the mood for the fiesta.
  • Tissue Paper Flowers: Starting with that inspiration post I was instantly smitten with the tissue paper flowers and went from there making over 100 of these things.   You can see how to make these flowers over at our DIY Pom-Pom Decorations post. (I used smaller pieces of tissue for my flowers).  Not in the mood to make these flowers?  Here is a great site to order tissue paper or corn husk flowers.
  • Table Linens: I dressed the tables with Marigold, Orange, and teal tablecloths ordered from Linen Tablecloth. (Interested in ordering from this site?  Here’s a hint: “like” them on Facebook to get discount codes.)

Food

  • Roaming Bird BBQ provided the delicious food.  This husband and wife team serve up award winning BBQ  (they took 10th in the state last year!)  They also do catering and the wife just so happens to be my little sister.

  • We also served some of the best chips and salsa I have ever had.  They were provided by Frankie’s Grill of Soledad.  Next time you are traveling on 101 stop by to check it out.

Guest Book: Another nice touch was the guest book.  Rather than having everybody scribble away in a notebook I opted for an Instant Photo Guestbook by Adesso. This was a great success.  My cousin put up a backdrop for everybody to pose for their picture.  The photos were inserted into the guest book and were signed with well wishes to the birthday girl. Now my grandmother has photos of her guests to remember her day.

Music: It wouldn’t be a party without music.  The DJ for the day was 3rd Street Productions of Soledad.  And it wouldn’t be a fiesta without a mariachi band.  We celebrated to the sounds of Mariachi Nuevo Jalisco out of Watsonville.

Here is my Grandma leading the conga line and enjoying her Fiesta!

If you want to check out more about this party head over to Ari Cortes to see details about my Grandma and photos from the Fiesta.

Smiles, Arianna

Woo-hoo! I am thrilled to be joining Modern Hostess.  I thought I’d start with sharing one of my recent parties.
One Response to “Real Parties ~ Fiesta”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tissue Pom Gift Topper « Modern Hostess - March 25, 2011

    […] no secret that we love tissue paper poms/flowers over here at Modern Hostess (as seen here, here, here, here, here, and here).  What we haven’t done yet is top a gift with one!  A simple kraft […]

Leave a Reply

