1st Birthday Tea Party ~ Part One

7 Mar

When I think of little girls I think, tea party, dress up, flowers, butterflies, everything beautiful. Luckily my daughter seems to gravitate to beautiful things too. So naturally for her 1st Birthday party I thought….Tea Party!

The first inspiration I found was this adorable printable package from TomKat Studio. I love the pastel colored theme of Alice in Wonderland and used this for the invitation and printable tags.

I also loved the idea of having a cupcake tower with all the cupcakes placed in vintage tea cups. Little did I know that tea cups are hard to find! My sister and I searched all the local thrift stores and came up with 8. I needed 48! Thankfully, my favorite cupcake lady, Sadie @ Clementine Cupcakes saved the day and bought over 48 tea cups along with her delicious cupcakes. We had Chai, Lavender, Lemon Drop and Plain Jane. So yummy! She even helped me finish Mia’s smash cake. I LOVE how this turned out.

Tissue Paper Poms are one of my favorites. It’s an affordable way to add some color and filler to any room for a party. I spent the past few weeks putting together over 20 poms. Some were hanging from the tree’s outside and some inside over the food, cupcake tower, entry, and chandelier. I just love the way they look.

Tiffany and I put together these adorable cookies which were the party favors for the guests. I also added a little flair to Mia’s chair using ribbon & a little pink butterfly. I purchased most of my decorations at Michaels and Beverley’s, most everything I purchased was on sale. I’m a bargain party shopper, with 3 kids parties within 2 months you kinda have to be!

Here’s a little insider tip: Michaels and Beverley’s accept competitors coupons. So if you have a 20% off entire purchase coupon from Joann’s bring it in and they will honor it. Thanks Ari for the tip!

For food I originally planned to have little tea party finger foods but changed my mind last-minute to make it a little easier on myself. We made turkey, ham and cheese croissant sandwiches, tortellini salad, fruit salad and PB&J in the shape of butterflies for the kids. For drinks, we had lemonade, iced tea, sodas and lemon water.

Stay posted for tomorrow Part Two of Amelia’s Birthday Party.

Cheers!

~Steph~

Make sure to visit the Modern Hostess facebook page for exclusive party photos. Become a fan while your there!
http://www.facebook.com/modernhostess

Leave a Reply

